Designing Ju-87 Stuka

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by Bmer, May 2, 2007.

1. Bmer

Bmer New Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to card modelling, and I'd like to start out by designing something of my own. So, I found a whole bunch of reference material (3-view drawings, cross-sections, etc.) on the Ju-87 Stuka, but I don't have the slightest idea of what I should do next.

I am proficient with AutoCAD and Photoshop, but I do not know any 3D programs. From what I have read on the forums, you don't need to know how to model in 3D to design your own airplane.

However, how do I go about designing the airplane? Where should I start off? Are there any tutorials that can help me get on my feet?
  2. cjwalas

cjwalas Member

Unfortunately, I can't help you in the slightest, but as a devout JU-87 fan, I can offer a wealth of support on your efforts! Which version were you planning on designing?
  3. shoki2000

shoki2000 Active Member

Welcome to the forum and the hobby.
    I can't help you with designing since I don't know how to do it but I strongly suggest trying to build some models (there is whole bunch of free ones available) to familiarize with the methods of construction and tricks used.
  4. paper warrior

paper warrior Member

See Yaniv's "tray design" threads.
  5. wunwinglow

wunwinglow Active Member

If you don't want to use a 3D design program, but have access to a 2D one, I'd be inclined to make a prototype structure first, with a vertical 'spine' the same shape a the side elevation of the fuselage, and frames glued onto this at pertinent points. The wings and tail surfaces can be done in the same way with a plan view (a bit more complicated especially with a Stuka with its gull wings and trousered undercarriage) with the ribs added to indicate the wing sections.