De Havilland DH-88 Comet

Leif Oh

Jan 27, 2004
Goteborg, Sweden
Done!

It's a done deal. Look out for my money, and many thanks! - Leif

PS. (Edited in just an hour afterwards). Got it in the mail already, no codes, no hassle at all. Many thanks, Jan, for excellent service! And I was the first customer, too - timezones sometimes play out to one's advantage...

The kit looks first-class. 20 pages of top-quality print; 12 pages of excellent instructions, and 8 pages of parts. Importable into Illustrator, perfect scaleability. Now I'll have to learn Illustrator, too. Phew...

- L.

rowiac

Jan 25, 2004
NorCal, USA
Leif,
If you need some pointers in Illustrator, I might be able to help. I've scaled up some vector models myself, but only 1/72 --> 1/48 or 1/50 --> 1/33, etc. Nothing as large as what you've done.

Roger

Leif Oh

Jan 27, 2004
Goteborg, Sweden
Help appreciated

Thanks a million Roger! Perhaps a few pointers for the absolute beginner, wanting only to scale, separate and arrange parts on new printing sheets - i.e. not actually drawing anything.

Here's what I learned by trial and error so far:

1) Scaling is absolutely no problem. Select all, and scale to your heart's content.

2) Getting to the right printing format for odd paper sizes: Find the option "Document format", check "use printer set-up" (or similar; I'm using a Swedish version of Illustrator). In printer set-up, choose your modified paper size.

3) Create new layers (for printing in your new format) and copy parts into those. Going from 1/33 to 1/16 I usually get away with two new layers per original sheet. Sometimes a third, only partially filled, layer is necessary to accomodate parts.

Here's what I don't quite get yet:

1) When to use the different selection tools. There are two kinds of arrows, plus a lasso which is mostly like the second kind of arrow, I gather.