dcc newbie question.

darius28z

Nov 27, 2005
im just starting out in m.r. definatley want to run dcc.what i would like to do is run 4 differnt trains at anytime ,with sound on my engines,is this possible can you control switches with dcc too.what would be the best system for this ,from what i have read in magazines some units can control lots of trains ,but are real expensive.others are not so pricey can they do the same things??im going to have a L shaped layout the smaller leg part being stageing into 2 continuos ovals of some sorts with breakoffs in spots,for backing in and breaking i think its called.any help here would be apreciated im starting my benchwork this weekend..:thumb:

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site
I think the Prodigy from MRC is an inexpensive dcc system that will have the capacity to run 4 trains. I know dcc systems will operate turnouts, but I don't see why anyone would care about that sort of thing. A remote controlled electric switch machine would do the job without needing dcc to do it. The only other question I have is are you going to run the layout by yourself? I have tried running two trains simitaneously, and found it to be a handful. Runing 4 trains on dcc by youself at the same time is asking for a train wreck I think.

darius28z

Nov 27, 2005
not running all 4 at once ,just the ability to control 4 differnt ones,maybe 2 at once 1 on a long oval one inside smaller oval.hope these dont seem like dumb questions.when i was a kid my tyco set was one big cirlce ,i guess im looking for real like operation now .not just roundy round,if one is on a loop the ability to move another to a certain part of layout .pick up cars move them to other spots .etc.but i dont know wich system would be best for this for the money,;)

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site