DCC computer control

Joepomp

Dec 29, 2002
New Jersey How yous doing
Visit site
I am starting to design a computer control system using NEC Power house Pro, a PC, and a Basic Stamp u prossor. This is just the design phase not working a model yet.:D If any is intrested or has experience with DCC and coputer control, let me know.
Here is the high level Bolck diagram. I have completed the next level block digram, if onoy is intrested I will post it also.

Attachments

• block1.jpg
    block1.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 222

jkristia

Aug 1, 2002
Simi Valley, CA,
Visit site
I did think about it once, but realized that with only a few (3-4) hours a week for the hobby, I would rather spend the time actually building the layout. I do programming for a living, and has been doing it for 13 years now, and I have always considered my job my hobby, but after I got back into train 2 years ago, the interest shifted towards train, so now my job is programming, and my hobby is train (although I still enjoy programming very much).

Jesper

I recently bought a new PC for home use and now have a "spare" PC (Win98) that no one uses. At first I thought that I would like to interface the PC with my DCC system. (I started a layout about a year ago because DCC looked like FUN.)

I'm with Jasper. I've been a programmer or somehow involved with software development for 30 years and "it has it's moments". But I like MR because of the trains. The DCC aspect is just a better and more realistic way to run the trains. After thinking about "PC control" and doing a bit of research, I decided that I don't need or want a PC on the layout. I think that it would take too much time from developing, building and running my layout.

That being said, I think that PC control could be an interesting way to "run a railroad" if one has the time and interest.

I just like running the trains. I don't even use DCC for accessory control and don't plan to (Things can change though.)