DCC and DC

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site
Scoobie, If you are talking about a loco you will buy with a decoder in it already, all i know of will run on DC. If you are going to install your own decoder, the only ones I know of which will not operate on DC are all the Soundtraxx prior to and not including the Tsunami. There may be others I don't know about, you should post which particular one you are looking at.

Scoobie

Feb 21, 2006
Circle Pines, Minnesota
Hey Gary, thanks for replying. I was looking at a Bachmann Loco. I might switch to DCC here in the future, so I was thinking of buying Loco with decoder already installed. I wasn't sure if the DC would hurt it or not ( I'm new at this model train stuff ).
Thaks

green_elite_cab

Keep It Moving!
Apr 4, 2005
Hainesport NJ
any one of the higher end decoder equppied locomotives will run on gobth DC and DCC. I am not familiar with the bachmann model, but i doubt it could, or atleast not well, as the bachmann stuff is made as fancy "toys".

EDIT:

by toys i meant the standard line. Spectrum is alot better. i just realized i left that out...

zedob

Dec 26, 2004
Chicopee, MA
When I called BAchmann Parts Dept the other day to see if I could get replacement bushings for the worm shaft on my Spectrum 2-8-0 the lady asked me if it was one of the new ones. I told her I didn't know and what was the difference? She said that the new ones are coming out DCC ready. So, yeah, it sounds like they are coming out DCC ready. I didn't ask the lady if they were switchable to DC.

I asked her if the drive mechanism had changed also, but she couldn't give me an answer. She could sell the motor assembly, which is what I ended up buying, although I didn't need the whole assembly, just the bushings.