DC and AC

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by GKRR, May 21, 2003.

1. GKRR

GKRR New Member

Hi - can somebody please explain to me the difference between running DC (as in an outdoor G) or AC (like for typical O? Is it possible or feasible to run AC outside? like with MTH's Z4000 & DCS? or is there a danger of some sort?

any help is greatly appreciated

2. Clerk

Clerk Active Member

DC (Direct Current) current runs in one direction. AC (Alternating Current) runs back and forth. The two do not mix except with great results. (Bang). Example. A train is running in one direction on the track without stopping. This is like Direct Current (DC). Or a train is runniing back and forth at great speed on a length of track, Alternating current (AC)

I am not very good at explaining things so hope this helps a little.
  3. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

I don't think that AC or DC would affect whether you run outdoors. What would concern me is that "tinplate" track (Lionel type) will rust easily while the Brass or Nickel Silver in G won't.
    There are newer O gauge 3-rail tracks that look as if they won't rust.

You will want to be careful with the household electrical wiring going out to your transformer or power pack.

Running DC trains on AC is a no-no; it makes the electric motor shake back and forth 60 times a second until it burns out. Supposedly, you can run AC trains on DC but there are other problem there.
  4. pcentral

pcentral Member

Hi Kathy,