Cutting Scaled Lumber

Discussion in 'Tips & Tricks' started by Sawdust, Sep 2, 2009.

1. Sawdust

Sawdust Member

Most know that I am a scratch builder & being a trim carpenter I enjoy cutting my own SL from the poplar & cedar scraps from my work. I find this relaxing,rewarding,saves money & I can get as much out of the fallen tree that I can. I have worked with power tools on a daily basis for close to 30 years now & this idea may not be for everyone. When using any power tool use with caution,safety in mind,use push sticks & wear goggles. This is a vintage cast iron Rockwell table saw that I converted to modeling only. I replaced the blade insert with a solid one to keep the small pieces on the table top. I also replaced the 10" blade with a 5 1/2" cordless saw blade because of the thin kerf. You can find these little saws for as little as $25. because most people don't have a use for them anymore.

This is the pile of poplar scraps.

These are some of my jigs I will be using. These are actually the prototypes but because they work so well I haven't improved them yet. I will probably make the thickness gauges out of oak & the clothes pin finger will be a spring mounted on a slide that will slide in the table top groove.

Setting the blade up for a 12" thickness cut. I cut the blanks into various sizes of 6"- 8"- 12" & 16". No the little bee on the right is not helping me. He stopped by to see what the buzzing was about.

I then stack these blanks about 4-8 pieces high depending on the thickness being cut & feed them into the blade like a small mill.

The same stack coming out of the blade area. Again as I mentioned earlier I use push sticks not fingers!

After about 3 hours & a few coffee breaks this is what I have.

The first 3 stacks are 6x6's-8x8's & 12x12's.