Coupler Question

francismaximus

Jan 9, 2005
Harriman, NY
Ok here goes. I started this year with with "just a train under the tree" for my daughter. When I went Ebay crazy and bought a ton of tyco stuff. I went tyco since thats what I had as a kid. Anyway its only 3 weeks after x-mas I have a 4x8 table in my office trackbed all atlas nickel silver track half-laid down. And a Broadway Limited steam engine on the way. Obviously I'm well past the tyco stage and the 9 Locomotives I have from them and probably 25-35 cars shouldent all go to waste. Are the tyco couplers compatible with any of "the good stuff" the modern companies are using now? And does HO scale offer magnetic release couplers like my old lionels did? And how does that work? Sorry for the winded post, but I am a newbie with ALOT of questions. Now who wants to buy some nice tyco sets? ;)
attachment.php

Attachments

• Jan 2005 002.jpg
    Jan 2005 002.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 183

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Kadee couplers are the standard today, and they do work with a variety of magentic uncoupling devices. You can convert your old X2F (or horn-hook) couplers on the Tyco if you want. Kadee offers all kinds of plans and different sized couplers to convert just about everything out there.

As for whether you want to do it, that is another matter. As you have already found out, Braodway Limited is light-years ahead of the old Tyco stuff. My advice would be 1) save the Tyco stuff for around the tree, and/or kids, and/or weathering/painting practice. If you can't live with (1), then 2) convert the couplers, but body mount them. I expect that most or all of the Tyco has truck mounted couplers. They will operate much better if mounted on the body of the car. Of course, then you should also weight the car(s) to the suggested NMRA standard to get the best operation.

Hope that helps.

Andrew

F

Fred_M