computer control

conor

ok so i pretty much know what im going to be buying but now i need to power it all. i was initially just going to for DC but i ws thinking of just going DCC but then i was on diditrax website and i saw an interface for computers. Does this let me control trains with DCC using my computer. I have no problem with technical computer stuff (im studying computer science) so this could be a handy thing. ive got an old mac that i was thinking of using but failing that ive another old computer running 3.1 that i could use. So would this let me control multiple trains at once with DCC without the need for a command station?

i looked on the internet and found this website. what do you think?

it seems to be good. if i went with this systme it appears that i dont need a power supply, it looks like i just hook this up to my computer via a serial cable and then hook their module up to the track as required. is that the case?

heres the link
http://www.cti-electronics.com/starter.htm

You can use your computer as a command station, but it generally doesn't work very well - especially on old 'puter using 3.1.

I use Lenz and run the system using my computer as a glorified (very, very glorified) throttle. Love this setup. The software I use is JMRI which is free (http://jmri.sourceforge.net/) which somewhat offsets the fact that you can't go comman-station free. Since it's open-source it should be particularly appealing to a CS major...

Kris

cidchase

hi conor, :wave:

I don't get that from their website. It says you can use an existing DC throttle (power supply), or their SmartCab module (50w output). If you use DCC it will
interface to your DCC controller which modulates your power supply voltage.

It doesn't sound like a bad system, but the starter kit does not supply track
power, if I read it correctly. :) :) :)

Woodie

Conor,