Complete newby questions

rob164

I=Ive been thinking about making a layout. The table I have is 48"x30". From what I read i was going to lay down a 3/4" thick piece of plywood and than another inch thick piece of plywood. I wanted the setting to be like a tropicla jungle island. I was going to make a huge mountain and beach with water surounding it. The deeper board will have the water over it and the higher board would have the land. If anyone has a better idea please tell me. I am kind of on a budget. I really need to know how to make the mountain and water.

Thanks for reading,
Robert

jon-monon

That sized layout you could about use blue foam on a frame and just skip the plywood, saving $$$ and weight. If the mountain is also made of foam, it can be made really light weight.

What scale? What type of industries? Is it to be portable? What type of table?

Oh, and :wave: :wave: :wave: Welcome to the-gauge! :wave: :wave: :wave:

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Hi Robert,

Welcome to The Gauge!

One of the best combinations of beaches, islands, and railroads I ever read about was an article in MR within the past few years called "The Railroad that went to sea". It was about the railroad (can't remember the name now, of course :rolleyes: ) that built out across the Florida Keys.

I would second jon's suggestions about building materials, and I also have the same questions for you... :)

Andrew

rob164

I wanted the scale to be like really small. Ill look into that more. I want the island to be like an old carribean fishing island. I dont want it to be portable. I think it would be awsome having like 2 islands with a bridge connecting them and docks and old boats and just tropical lush trees. Im not sure how exactly im suposed to make it. What are the steps. I have been looking into this and studying. I wont rush myself into it.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery