Complete and total Newbie needs lots of help.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ajsbigdawg, Jun 8, 2006.

1. ajsbigdawg

ajsbigdawg New Member

Hi everyone my name is Kevin and I want to get started in this hobbie with my 6 year old son Aaron who has turned me on to trains. Now I have no clue where to start I am planning on permanent structure. Is it best to by a set or seperate pieces I am looking at HO scale starting off with one train but then adding more as we go along. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
  2. LongIslandTom

LongIslandTom Member

Train sets are good for quick-and-dirty running, i.e. if you want to temporarily throw a circle of track around the Christmas Tree to run a train during the holidays while your relatives are over.

But for a permanent layout I suspect you will probably need something more, such as Digital Command Control (DCC) if you want to run two trains independently, which you can't really get in a train set. So you will want to buy the pieces separately..

Locomotives: Atlas, Proto2000s, Athearns, and Katos are nice... And you can get them DCC-equipped too.

Rolling stock: P2K, Kadee, MDC, Athearn, Atlas, etc.

Track: Nickel Silver. Never, ever get any other kind of track (i.e. brass or steel) because they tarnish too easily. Atlas makes good nickel silver sectional and flex track, Peco makes nice turnouts, Shinohara/Walthers makes nice slimmer-profile (more realistic-looking) Code 83 and 70 track, etc. If possible, keep your curve radius at 22" or larger if you want to run big locomotives.

Power and Control: Get yourself a good DCC setup.

Good luck!
  3. abutt

abutt Member

Read first!

Model railroading has more aspects than any other hobby in the world. So start slow and careful is the best advice I can give.