Comments welcome

Cpt Carter

Mar 6, 2003
UK
Visit site
This is my first attempt at desiging a layout and any feedback will be much appreciated.

I am modelling in HO and the dimensions are 7' across the top and 6' down the side all about 18" deep. The layout will be set into the corner of the spare room, access to which has just been negotiated with the domestic authorities.

I have tried to incorporate freight operations and passengers services into the same small area. to this end i have used a slightly modified time saver shunting puzzle and a small branch line spur, possibly for passenger or maybe for a as yet undecided industry.

The red line is where i was looking to position a platform and the area behind the marked area on the left side will be storage tracks.

Any suggestions, opinions and comments are most welcome.

Thanks for reading.

Attachments

• layout 01.jpg
    layout 01.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 260

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Hi Cpt.,

I think your plan is a good approach to an industrial switching layout that could serve several small companies or even one very large one such as a steel mill or paper plant that has many different buildings. I gather from the size of the layout and the length of your spurs that you probably plan to run short locos and cars. It'd be great if you could extend the 7 foot shelf a little more to lengthen the spurs, but allocated space is allocated space. :)

The trackage in the center of the red circle looks rather complicated to me and I'm not sure if it really increases any operational advantage. I see a run around in there but that's a lot of turnouts in a small space (a problem expense-wise and also possibly derailment-wise unless you're a master at making bullet proof track). If it were me I'd simplify this a little.