CODE 100 or CODE 83 TRACK

csiguy

hi all

as i have stated before i am very new to the hobby and admit i do not know a whole lot. i would like to start building my layout this fall. but do not know what track is best code 83 or code 100. or even how much i should pay for it. im sorta confused by this. any help would be gratly appreciated. thanks very much.

todd

Gary Pfeil

Either is fine. Code 100 scales to a rail size larger than all but a few heavy duty main lines. Code 83 is closer to a "correct" scale. There is also code 70, and 55, lets not worry about those now. Being that you are new to the hobby, I recommend Atlas flex track as it is the easiest to use, at least that I know of. Atlas makes both code 100 and 83, but their 83 is on thicker ties so it mates up their 100 well. Also their 83 has a larger railhead than other brands 83, making it not quite really code 83. If you are planning a relatively small layout I'd say use the code 100, I haven't checked prices in sometime but it used to be cheaper than the code 83. As you mature in the hobby and build another layout you may decide to switch size or brand, you'll always be able to use the code 100, in hidden areas if you no longer like its appearance.

Hope this helps

csiguy

thanks very much gary, for the information. it helped very much enlightened me a great deal as well and giving me a few ideas. im going to look around in the next few months and see who has the best prices on track. and with any luck start my layout in the late fall. thanks again very much.

todd

wjstix

If you're new to the hobby, I would suggest looking at one of the "track with roadbeds" available now. They're much easier than trying to use cork roadbed :evil: and flex or sectional track etc... Kato Unitrack uses code 83 with a very realistic profile and is very reliable. I'm using it on my new layout, and I've been a model railroader for over 35 years. :eek:

ed acosta

Todd,