Cheapo drifter

Discussion in 'RC Drifting and Setup' started by ash, Jun 1, 2004.

1. ash

ash Guest

Hi there.

I'm new to Drifting - and probably in a minority as I'm using a Ho Bao Hyper 10 EP (for those who don't know -graphite and alum' chassis) and a Novak GT7 / Trinity D5 8X2 motor setup.
    So far, I've only used rubber slicks, but I stick loads of neg-Camber up front (not measured - just as far as it will go!!!) and it works fine.
    I've got some sweet Hotworks wheels coming, which I plan to use with PVC pipe - but which it better???

One thing I notice though - my D5 gets HOT! all that full throttle eats up my brushes too. (and no, I'm not getting a Brushless) Has anyone got any advice / similar setup?

I will try and post pics as soon as me new wheels arrive (got a Murcielago body :twisted: )
    - is anyone else here from the UK? - or am I talking to a bunch of Yanky-doodles? hehehe
  2. Argitist

Argitist Guest

sweet i lust got an xxx s and don't know much about rc cars, though i have seen some other people from the uk but do you know if there are any okies here besides me. I cant wait till my car ships in. :wink:
  3. Onikyan

Onikyan Guest

See if you can find a Tamiya TA03F chassis. I have one and it's really cool. Unforunately I took it apart recently to put new bearings in and wire up a new ESC, so I'm drifting my TA03R (mid-engine). The TA03F chassis is the only chassis that had a front mount engine. That is good for two reasons - easier to drift because of the forward weight balance, and also allows for better cooling of the motor, because the motor is front mounted.

The third reason is since it's an older chassis, they're generally cheap - I bought a TA03F chassis w/motor, suspension, and lexan body on ebay for less than $100.
  4. ash

ash Guest