Cars that derail

Edgar

Hi fiolks, I'm new to the hobby but learning every day. I'm having a hard time with derailments; some of my HO freight cars are derailing at the same spot (a curve.) Any suggestions from the veterans out there? I'd appreciate it.

Glen Haasdyk

Is it the same place on the curve? Possibly a track joint there? If so the track could be 'kinked' in that area.Check your track's guage in that area which an NMRA track guage to make sure that the rails are correctly spaced. If not, try to gentely take a set of needle-nose pliers and try to curve the kink out or if you have just laid the track try taking it back up and re-laying it in the curve.
Also you could have some wheelsets on your cars that are out-of-guage as well check those with the NMRA guage as well and re-space as nessasary.

cabdriver

Well, I cetainly don't want to insult your intelligence, :eek: but we had the same type of issue on our layout and were amazed at the cause.:eek: :eek: :eek: We had a switch on one of our curves, and we thought the switch was thrown one way when in actuality, the switch was thrown the opposite way. :eek: The lead loco seemed to be able to transverse this but the lighter rolling stock would not.:p Many folks suggested the problem was that our rolling stock was "too light" so we loaded them up. :( This seemed to help -- perhaps just muscled the stock around the curve. ;) Well, once we realized that the problem was with the switch, everything worked fine. :thumb: :thumb: Flipped the switch and presto! :thumb: :thumb: Smooth running around the layout. :thumb: We were able to reduce the weight in the stock without any adverse affect, as well. I'm sure this is too simple for your problem, but it was the root of ours, so I thought we would let you know.

Cabdriver

dsfraser

On a curve? Same spot?

Make sure the guage is correct (NMRA guage).

Make sure the wheelsets are in guage (again NMRS guage).