cardstock truck/trailers

Although mainly due to the fact that shortage of funds prevents me from buying all the trucks and trailers to fill my intermodal yard, I came up with an idea that not only will benefit my own layout, but layouts all over the place. I have checked the net and no company makes N scale trucks or trailers for that matter made of cardstock. Below is the prototype that I drew up and will continue to release new trucks and trailers in the near future. What I need is input on whether this would benefit any of you. I have been a gif artist for the last three years, as most of you know by my traingif lineup and am expanding to N scale. The prototype model is partially finished below and will post the finished kit once the fenders, wheels, etc are added. This is just a black and white, but I can duplicate any paint scheme. Let me know what you think

Attachments

• truckprototype.gif
    truckprototype.gif
    37.5 KB · Views: 245

billk

Jun 12, 2001
Marion, IA, USA
Looks like a good start, Ed. Q: What about the wheels/tires? Seems they might be a little hard to make look realistic w/cardstock. Maybe we need to get out the old Hot Wheels cars for parts!

RockIslandMike, as you probably have already guessed the trailer is just a simple rectangular box with the ends glued to it. As for being optimistic about the truck itself, I can understand as I too am optimistic about how it will turn out. I've laid out the template so that the middle section is one solid strip running between the two sides (which I can't get a pic of). I was just fooling around with an idea a while back that if a trailer can be folded and be as realistic as the ones that can be bought then what about the truck, maybe it's a far fetched idea but the thought of buying 60 or 70 trucks to fill an truck transfer scene or enough to represent a large industry has me giving thought to a cheaper way.

CN1

May 6, 2003
How about you glue the template to foamboard?