cape cod railroad steam to run like a trolley back and forth

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by ponchew, Nov 11, 2006.

1. ponchew

ponchew New Member

Hello, I am an amateur looking to create a replica of the old 1920-30 Cape Cod Railroad. It will be installed for winter display on the Macmillan Pier in Provincetown as part of my artist recreation of the old Railroad Pier. I am trying to figure out what train to buy and how to wire it to have it operate automatically like a trolley car going back and forth stopping at bumpers at both ends and reversing. I would like to use N or HO scale and just was recently told by a local hobby store that this was a difficult task. I find that hard to believe. Is this true and could anyone direct me toward what train and where to get it?:wave: thanks
  2. Jim Krause

Jim Krause Active Member

Hello and Welcome: Difficult, perhaps. Impossible, no. Model railroaders are known for their ability to come up with solutions to problems.
    Since I'm a "wet"(west) coast modeler, I won't attempt to give you info on The Cape Cod Railroad. I'm sure there are North East modelers that know more than I do. Do you have any old photo's of the railroad that shows equipment? How much space do you have to work with? There are commercially available systems that allow a train to reverse at the end of the line and I believe I saw a magazine article on how to set up pre programmed stops.
  3. Jim Krause

Jim Krause Active Member

Hi: Reference my previous post, here is the name of one company that makes auto reversing units. They also state in their ad that you can use the system for up to five intermediate stops. If you can find a copy of the current (December 2006) Railroad Model Craftsman magazine, on page 115 there is an ad for the Minatronics Automatic Reversing Unit. Their address is 561-K Acorn Street Deer Park, NY 11729.
  4. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah