Capacitor

cidchase

I'm new to this, and I keep seeing references to a capacitor used on the AC switch machine circuits. Is this for the purpose of reducing arcing on your control pushbuttons??

Thanx
Cid

shamus

Registered Member
Hi Cid,

Welcome to the gauge.

A capacitor discharge unit is used instead of using straight 16v ac to power the switch motors. If you just use the 16v ac on its own, sometimes either a momentary switch (Lever) or probe (Stud & Probe) it can weld itself for a second or two. Using the capacitor discharge unit stops this by giving a short burst of electrical current and will not re-charge itself if the lever or probe are still in position. Like you stated, in can cause an arc sometimes.

Shamus

Welcome to "The Gauge" Cid,

Yes, the (transistorised) capacitor discharge circuit dramatically reduces if indeed it doesn't actually eliminate arcing.

Arcing occurs when a switch carrying current opens, not when it closes.
The principle being that the capacitor charges up with a fair amount of current. When the pushbutton is pressed the capacior sees about a 3 to 5 ohm load (which is the switch machine coil) and discharges very rapidly. The discharge time is shorter in duration than the time you would normally hold the button down for. When the capacitor is discharged, the transistor prevents the flow of any appreciable current through the pushbutton to the turnout motor. Therefore there is only a few thousandths of an amp flowing when the pushbutton is released. Not only is this insufficient to cause arcing but there is no way the turnout motor can burn out if the pushbutton is held down indefinately or jams in the operated position.

NON TRANSISTORISED capacitor discharge units do NOT guarantee that turnout motors will NOT burn out.

If I have been verbose here it is for the benefit of those who are still wondering about why experienced modellers rave about the transistorised versions.

Believe me, they are worth their weight in gold :) .