Can anyone offer a newbee some tips and ideas?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by BorgarSig, Sep 3, 2004.

1. BorgarSig

BorgarSig New Member

Hi there gauger's

I´m a total newbee here and i was wondering if anyone here could offer me some tips and useful info.

I´m 23 and a few days ago I was helping my family cleaning out some stuff from our storage space and I came across an old train model my parents gave me when I was young:thumb: , back then I had big dreams about creating a cool layout but as things go I forgot about it.

Any ways, now I want to get into this train model buisness. But of course I live in Iceland , and with a population of only 280 thousand there is not a single shop in the whole country that sells model trains.:cry:

So I went online and after a few days of browsing the web I bought a Atlas 8-40c CSX disel train with DCC. I also bought the Grand Valley track pack for a easy beginning. I also bought a few buildings and a couple of hoppers, a box car, a gondola and one tank car. I bought one standard Atlas power pack and some things like steel, timber and coals for my gondola and hoppers. All this was about 283 dollars, which I think was a pretty fair price for the lot.

Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone had any tips and ideas for a newbee like myself, all I know about model trains is what I have read in the past few days. I dont even know if i need anything else than the power pack to run my layout, wich will arrive in 2-8 weeks hopefully. I picked the HO scale because of the amount of things offered in that scale and I will probably have enough room to set up a big layout.

So if anyone here would be so nice and tell a newbee what he needs to get started, and if i forgot to buy something critical. It really sucks to be stranded on an Island in the middle of the Atlantic ocean without a single hobby shop. So you guys will be my life line so to speak:cry:

Thank you