buying a new model train

asaf

Apr 15, 2006
Hello,
looking for HO model.
Would you advice me to buy a set or each part apart?
Which is the best web by your experience to purchase eaither a full set or individuals?
looking for a locomotive,cars,tracks, etc'...
THanx.
Asaf.

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
Hi,

I think buying the pieces separately is a good way to go, because you can plan for growth.

To get started:

- The first item to buy would be a good engine. I would spend good money on a locomotive like an Atlas unit with a dual-mode DCC decoder already installed. Such an engine will let you start out with straight direct-current to run just one train using a simple power pack and just a loop of track, but gives you the ability to easily move on to using Digital Command Control (DCC) in the future if you want to build a permanent layout with a DCC system capable of running multiple trains at the same time. I have an Atlas Master Series HO-scale GE B40-8 diesel locomotive with the dual-mode DCC decoder, and it's the best-running engine I've ever owned.

- Then buy a few pieces of quality rolling stock with metal wheels and properly-weighted frames. There are a great selection of rolling stock out there by various companies such as Walthers, Kadee, Proto 2000, etc.

- Then get a loop of good-quality nickel-silver track to get you started, such as Kato Unitrack. Avoid brass-rail or steel-rail track-- They tarnish easily and lose electrical conductivity, which makes them unreliable. Nickel-silver track remains conductive even when tarnished.

- Then pick up one of the basic DC power packs such as one of the lower-end MRC packs (get the cheapest one-- Save your money for buying a DCC system later), hook it up to the circle of track, and you are ready to go.

Good luck!

L

lester perry