Building Nomad, et al

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by Timothy McCarthy, May 4, 2005.

1. Timothy McCarthy

Timothy McCarthy New Member

I have a question about a problem I've encountered a couple of times now with interpreting a model sheet. I'm new at this so bear with my explanation.

The models in question are the robot from Lost in Space and Star Trek's Nomad.

I've run up against parts that seem to be edge glued and I'm having a hard time both believing they should be and trying to do the build. In both models there is a part that is a cone section or a saucer that is to be attached to a mirrored part, inverted. (They're like the "head" of the robot, to give you a visual reference. think pie plates.) However, the edge of the connection has no saw tooth tabs so it ends up being just the edges. Even though the seam will show, you want to glue from the inside but the part is a closed surface and...argggh!

So how should you glue these together? Do you make your own tabs? How do you close the surface? Are there models that are designed to have edge joints?

Everything I've tried so far has turned out to be a loose seam or a very fragile joint. What I have been thinking about is a sort of cap that can go between the two so that there is something to glue on to. The cap would have the tabs to glue to one side and then the other would have tabs that would be attached to the cap. This works except the additional material may open the seam. I'm sure there's a way to get a strong joint and I just don't see it. Maybe I'm not reading the model correctly. I really want to do both robots properly and I've seen a couple of pictures of the completed robot but I don't know how it's done. The "Lost in Space" robot has a number of these sorts of problems, where the parts don't seem to have any surface to adhere to. The poor thing just lies on my desk in bits and pieces until the cats take after it.

2. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member