Buffing up the BUFF

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Ashrunner, Nov 28, 2004.

1. Ashrunner

Ashrunner Member

Hey folks...I figure since I am having trouble cutting out parts of Marek's PBY for now, I'd do something a little more challenging or easier, whichever you prefer. I have decided to repaint GPM's B-52D and make it look nice and proper-like. This is my first attempt at something like this, and I am sure the way I am doing it is not only the hard way, but the "where did you come up with that idea" way. It took me a while to figure out a way of doing it and I finally came up with doing the redraw in TurboCAD, saving the redraw lines as DXF, importing to a conversion program I have, saving as a TIFF file, opening the TIFF in Paint Shop Pro, redoing the color, then resizing and saving. Works well for me.

Anyway, here are some of the problems I have come across with the model. The nose is designed more like the H model than that of the D model which the kit represents. I am working on fixing that at the moment. Aside from markings, which are incorrect -- WWII style insignia is used on the model -- I have mentioned before that the kit model is painted in two browns and one green, whereas the official SEA paint scheme for the Big Belly D models was two greens and a tan -- FS colors 34079, 34159 and 34201, along with a gloss black color on the lower portions. It took me a while to get the correct colors to show up on my system, but I finally did.