Bridge suggestion needed

on my layout, I have two small bridges that need customization.

I had one idea, but it may not work.

the following pics will show the area that needs ideas

I tried Plastruct girder sections for the curve, but it broke in half

here was the second idea

as I mentioned I tried Plastruct, but it broke in half,

my second idea was to snip the plastic my cheap Industrial Rail freight cars came in to make the bridges, as shown below.

the problem is the thinness of the plastic. It may not look right, and may have trouble holding paint

Attachments

• img 015.jpg
    img 015.jpg
    37 KB · Views: 448

belg

Micro engineering makes seperate girder plates that mold very nice to a curve I've used myself. You could also pour a plaster stone carved wall. or how about a stick built wooden one keep your pieces thin enough and they will make the radius. Hope this is of some use. Pat

Drew1125

Hi S.S.!
I'm not an engineer or anything, but I have built a few model RR bridges.
When I build a curved bridge, the only thing that's really 'curved' is the track...the bridge structure itself is actually shorter straight sections set at angles, following the curve of the track.

Here's a couple of photos to show what I mean...
This is the Catt's Creek bridge on my current N scale layout...the track curves here at roughly an 18" radius...

Attachments

• mvc-018f.jpg
    mvc-018f.jpg
    63.8 KB · Views: 418

Drew1125

...now here's a shot showing the underside of the bridge, & I used a flash here to light it up so you can hopefully see how the girders are actually two straight sections, set at a slight angle...

Attachments

• mvc-019f.jpg
    mvc-019f.jpg
    55.3 KB · Views: 409
on my layout i have a couple of bridges that are on a curve.
here is what i did to make mine. get some sheets of plasturct styren and draw the out line of the bottom of the bridge and then cut that out . then cut out you sides and put them aside for now.