Breaking in locos

Maineiac

New Model Railroader
Hello all, I'm new to The Gauge and I'm just getting started in the hobby. I have a question about breaking in new locos. The instruction sheet that came with one of my locos mentions running it for an hour or two, at various speeds but not top speed. My question is, what is the best way to break in a loco (how long, speed, frequent starts/stops, pulling cars or not, etc). Any advice for a newbie?

Maineiac

New Model Railroader
Also, does anyone have any advice on lubricating new engines, such as what to use, and how often?

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Hi Phil,

Welcome to The Gauge!

As for breaking in the loco, the best advice is to follow the instructions... :D Those sound like the instructions that came with the new Bachmann Spectrum 2-8-0 that I just got. It ran pretty badly out of the box, but is getting better with each run. I have about an hour on it now, and it is markedly better already.

As for lubrication, unless you bought something that sat on the shelf for a loooooonnnngggg time, you probably don't need to lube it for at least a year. If there are any instructions from the manufacturer, follow those. If not, remember that grease is for gears, and oil for everything else. Less is definitely more in this case, and be sure to clean out all the old stuff as well as possible before adding new.

Labelle makes a great line of plastic friendly greases and oils.

Andrew

berraf

Welcome aboard Maineiac:wave:
I do hope you will enjoy the forum. It's a great place with an amazing knowledge base.
About your question I have the same opinion like MasonJar :)

Russ Bellinis