Brass Painting

marty w.

Jun 11, 2002
Bloomington, IN
Visit site
Hi Nats,
Welcome to The Gauge.
I'm not a expert on painting brass, but I painted my first NY Custom Brass Erie caboose about 8 months ago.
I stripped the clear finish off because it was very thick and had some runs in it.
I airbrushed with Floquil right after the stripper was cleaned off and it was dry. I used a hair dryer to help speed up the drying process. After the decals were applied, the caboose was sealed with dullcoat.
So far the paint is sticking without a problem.
Some people have suggested to use Scalecoat paint, then bake in a oven. Others said to sandblast the brass before painting. I'm sure others will post with their suggestions, but this is how I did it and it seems to work for me. Below is a pic of the caboose.
Marty

Attachments

• el c334.jpg
    el c334.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 157

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
Great paint job , Marty...me, I prep my brass for painting by packing it real carefully in a non-PVC bubble wrap...then sending off to my buddy who's real good with an airbrush:p Sorry, you did ask for any tips...:D :D :D :D

MCL_RDG

Dec 8, 2002
S.E.PA.
Visit site
I prefer to...

...not prepare the brass- it tends to tense up.

I'd rather sneak uP on it with a can of KRYLON and go like there's no tomorrow!!!

For everything else I use Rust-O-Leum.

:rolleyes:

Hey Nats, welcome aboard The-Gauge!

Catch ya on the ride home.

Mark (AB3AO):D

Blake

Jul 19, 2002
Northern New Jersey
www.BlakeDTatar.com
Painting brass