Brand new

Ingchao

Jul 28, 2011
Hi everyone!
I'm basically a lightsaber builder with some pretty serious tools- metal lathe and mini-mill. I wanted to get into making other props, too, like the stun gun from Space:1999 and the Deep sleep flamegun from Logan's run. I've never made a model completely from scratch but after many hours of searching for scale drawings of the above mentioned weapons, I came across this forum and thought: Wow: this is awesome! I can build paper replicas even when I'm not near my tools! Plus, this will give me starting point for when I build these guns from aluminum-if I ever get to it that is! I have many orders for lightsabers to get through!

Z

Zathros

:welcome1: to the forum Ingchao. A fellow machinist. I also own a small machine shop, and a Mig and Tig welder. Paper modeling can certainly be a good way to lay out and design prototype parts. Thanks again, and welcome!!:thumb:

Ingchao

Jul 28, 2011
Thanks for the welcome! Great to know I'm on the right track with the prototyping here.:thumb:
I wouldn't call myself a machinist, just a hack that can pull an occasional rabbit out of my hat projectwise!

At your shop, what do you specialize in?

Z

Zathros

My shop is "My shop". I make whatever I need. I was a machinist at the Perkin Elmer Corporation and made parts for the Hubbel Telescope. I was also a machinist at Sikorsky Aircraft, and did all the tooling, fixture design, and programming, for 4 axis CNC centers.

Ingchao

Jul 28, 2011
That sounds really awesome! Eventually, that's the goal for my little home shop. I just got the Harbor Freight version of the X2 mini mill and am hoping to have enough funds from saber sales to convert it to CNC-soon.
I'm also looking forward to my first papercraft project. Any recommendations?

Z

Zathros