boycott the USAF museum!

Discussion in 'Off Topic - Card Modeler Lounge' started by -Jim G, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. -Jim G

-Jim G Member

Help Preserve a BLACKBIRD!

I live in a part of the world that has very few military trophies on display. Minnesota had one gem though... The Minnesota Air Guard Museum had a beautiful example of an A-12 Blackbird.

Now the bad news: The USAF Museum has reclaimed this beauty and taken it away from public display. They intend to make it a spy plane on a stick on the grounds of the CIA Headquarters in Washington DC. The public will no longer be able to run their hands down her sleak sides. Instead the weather will eventually claim her into piece of junk status!

Isn't there already a Blackbird (or two) in the DC area? This makes me so angry. I am a USAF veteran and I had been planning to visit the USAF museum in Dayton Ohio. Now they couldn't pay me to go there.

They are also responsible for taking the Memphis Belle away from Memphis and jerking the B-36 from Fort Worth.

I say that if you must go to a military museum, BOYCOTT DAYTON and go to Pensacola or Tucson.

-Jim G
  2. paper warrior

paper warrior Member

WTF, that ain't right! Someone should start a petition.
  3. dhanners

dhanners Member

Even though I live in the Twin Cities -- and have even climbed over that particular Blackbird at the Air Guard museum -- I have no huge beef with it going to the CIA headquarters. Langley has a bigger connection to the plane than Minnesota. Yeah, the locals refurbished it, but what the USAF gives, the USAF can take away....

If you want to get up in arms over it, then question why there are THREE Blackbirds in Alabama. Alabama?!?

Yeah, when I think of the A-12 or SR-71, I sure as heck think "Alabama"....
  4. -Jim G

-Jim G Member

I am not much of a pessimist, just a realist... kiss goodbye to the Blackbird and I think you can write off the Air Guard museum too.