Ben Franklin?/ Reinvent the wheel?

KCS

Nov 23, 2004
Shreveport, LA.
After tearing apart a 3 disc CD changer/radio I salvaged it for some motors and springs. I started playing around after letting the idea go for using the motors in animated scenery. I looked at the Model Power power supply in the box across the room and thought, "can I harness my own electricity to run my layout without having to plug it into the wall, such as those day's when the power goes out for a few hours and you have nothing else to do but run trains but can't because of no power.

I started playing around mounting the motors to a small piece of sheet rock I broke of from some left overs and used the pulley's and belts crossing multiple motors in line with the one hooked up to the power pack. I noticed with one motor running 3 others and hooking up and LED to the leads of one was plenty of power to light it up plus run another one to turn a different belt. Over all, it is apparent that it is plausible. Now, for someone who is very electronically inclined.

How can I power such without plugging in? (no gas generator!)The idea is without using one of those things burring up gas. I thought about something of a car battery array with an alternator in the motor consist to keep the battery charged while another motor in the loop is providing a steady current of 110 volts. Simply by the flip of a switch, the current runs through to the motor and everything starts up. Is this absolutely possible?

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site