Beginners build of Digital Navy's USS Arizona

Bargee61

Well, in my intro I threatened to start a thread once I had made a start on my model of the Ariizona, so here goes.

This is my first attempt at building a card ship model, so I trust you old hands will bear with me, and for any other novices like myself I hope what follows may be of use.

Right first requirements, basic tools. As you can from the following picture have lined up 5 different types of glue. The PVA, Pritt Stick and UHU are all well known and proven. The UHU Power spray I had not used before having only recently come across it in a local craft shop. Experiments have shown it to be very good for laminating card stock with little or no curl. The Evostock Impact adhesive I am in two minds about and will most probably not use it - all the four others give me what I need. Leather punch for possibly punching out portholes, circular cutter for cutting out/scoring larger round things, varying size metal rules for measuring and straight cutting (the two larger ones have non slip strips on the bottom), two type of knives - Swan Mortin scalpel using No. 10A blades which I prefer to No. 11, and a heavier snap-off blade type for the thicker card cuts. Pencils for marking, different grade sanding sticks and finally wooden coffee stirers, cocktail sticks and paintbrush for slapping the PVA around!

The next requirement was a good supply of card. Ok I could buy quite cheaply 160gsm, 200gsm, 210gsm and 300gsm card, but the heaviest of these only came out at 0.41mm thick. I needed 1mm stuff for the keel, bulkheads and subdeck assembly. Having resigned myself to having to do a bit of laminating, She Who Must Be Obeyed suggested I pay a visit to the local picture framer to see if they used anything thicker for backing pictures. Bless her - 3ft x 2ft sheets of 1mm thick card at a very reasonable price and any offcuts they didn't want for free!