Beginner needs help

Parker44

Feb 24, 2007
Wow,

Some real nice models! I am just getting into HO scale, could anyone recommend a book for a newbie. Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Parker44

Canopus

Mar 16, 2006
Cornwall UK
Parker44 said:
Wow,

Some real nice models! I am just getting into HO scale, could anyone recommend a book for a newbie. Anyhelp would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Parker44

Woodland scenics do a range of great books on how to do scenery properly. Regardless of scale it's a good investment.

Although I don't know any titles, I'd say you'll want a book on weathering. Some really great effects can be produced with a minimum of skill if you just know the techniques.

Hi Parker, and Welcome to The-Gauge!:wave:

Atlas have several inexpensive books on layouts and wiring which
would give you a good start on reading up. You can find them at
most hobby shops, I think!

or at http://www.trainworld.com:

9 Beginner's Guide to HO Model Railroading 3.99
11 HO Layouts for Every Space 4.50
12 The Complete Atlas Wiring Book* 4.50

13 Seven Step-By-Step HO Railroads 4.50
14 HO King-Size Plan Book 7.95

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Before you get a book, take a look around here...! ;) There's a search tool (or you can use google) to search for just about anything you'd like to know about - chances are, someone's covered it at some point. :)

Tell us a bit more about what you have in mind, or at least what got you interested, and some more specific recommendations will undoubtedly surface. :D

Welcome to The Gauge!

Andrew

MadHatter

Charging at full tilt.
Jan 27, 2007
Centurion, South Africa
Hi Parker44
Welcome to model trains and the guage!

Try these books from Kalmbach:
Basic Model Railroad Benchwork
Realistic Model Railroad Design
Small, smart and Practicle track plans

Jeffs_Railroad

Dec 18, 2006
Connecticut
announce1 hi parker44 - welcome to The Guage! :wave: