Batteries, What kind and where to find???

Discussion in 'RC Onroad Forum' started by countrymouser, May 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. countrymouser

countrymouser New Member

I am looking to start building my own battery packs. I bought the Deans battery Jigg, Pro 3 connectors, Pigtails and Ultra plugs. (All on the suggestion of other RC racers). Now comes the difficult part. Selecting batteries. I am currently running Pre-made 3000 packs, made by Venom. But everyone says I should get "Matched Batteries"??? Since I am new to all this, what the heck does Matched mean?......lol.

Does anyone have a suggestion for a website and or what type of batteries to get?

I am running a XXX-T, B4 and a RC10-T3 at my track on alternating weekends, and we race Three 5 min. heat and One 10 min. Main if that helps.

Thanks ahead of time for any input/help.[?]
    Frank.
  2. Steve M

Steve M Member

The best cells from my personal experience are the GP3300 NiMH ones. If you are just playing with friends then look for a place that sells in bulk. You can buy these fairly cheap and you could look on eBay by searching on keywords.

Matched cells are nothing more than bulk cells that have been charged and then discharged a few times to determine what a cell will take as a charge and how much voltage it has. Once a batch of cells has been matched they are packaged with cells of similar qualities. These will cost you considerably more than bulk but are the preferred type for all out racing.
  3. redheat

redheat Member

What ever batteries you get purchase a good peak charger , something that wont over charge your batteries
  4. cr250

cr250 New Member

I agree, go with GP 3300s. Try specpointbatteries.com
  5. pimp

pimp Active Member

go to tower hobbies get a 3300 mah 7 cell 7.2 volt batteries and a good charger then u will be set
  6. cr250

cr250 New Member

Definitely go with GP 3300s. Take a look at specpointbatteries.com.
  7. redheat

redheat Member