Based on the Vignette

csxnscale

May 9, 2002
Belgium
Visit site
Being a newbie I have posted a trackplan a few months ago based on the Iain Rice "East Suffolk Shortline".
But I can not afford that much room right now. I have never built a layout before and I want to start something that will keep me busy for a while.
This is what I came up with: "The Coal and Lumber Shortline".
It is slightly based on the Vignette railroad posted in this tread and the layout needs a 6' by 3' table.( thats the room I have for now)
The minimum radius is 12.4" and I will use Peco code 80 flex and medium turnouts, that will be thrown by hand.
The trackplan is designed with RR-Track and with the use of the Kato Unitrack library, but not intended to use Unitrack for this one( I want lay some real track this time).
Any comments ?

Bill Stone

Apr 20, 2001
San Dimas, California, USA
Visit site
It looks like a good track plan.

One thing I would modify is the branch line. Where it begins to climb, on the left side of the layout, I'd swing it further away from the lower track rather than leave them so closely parallel. The visual effect would be better.

Keep us posted on your design --- and construction.

Bill S

marty w.

Jun 11, 2002
Bloomington, IN
Visit site
I agree with Bill on the only change.
Since the tracks are very close, you would need a retaining wall in that area. If you move the track centers apart in that area, you would have more scenery options other than a retaining wall.
Marty

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi csx, nice looking plan that, could work out very nice scenic wise. Are you interested in a logging line. The reason I ask is I have Iain Rice's lilliput logger which was originally for HO, but I converted it to N for someone else. I can post it if you wish. It will fit onto a 5' by 2'-6" board, so with your 6' by 3' !!!

Shamus
wink.gif

csxnscale

May 9, 2002
Belgium
Visit site