Bachmann ON30 traction questions

Discussion in 'On30 Forum' started by gearnoise, Nov 27, 2006.

1. gearnoise

gearnoise New Member

Hi, I'm brand new to ON30 (had Lionel O27 as a kid, currently dabble in N guage due to space limitations imposed by wife :)). I'm about to internet buy the Bachmann United Traction Street Car Set from Trainworld as an addition to the wife's Christmas village display which she is expanding to a 36" wide door surface this year. The set comes with power supply, a few straight and 18" radius EZ-Track curves, and auto-reverses, pauses, etc. I plan to order some 15" curve 4-packs and more straights, etc.
    My questions:
    1. Since from what I understand, if I stick to short-bodied stuff like the trolley or porter, ON30 stock will handle even smaller curves, is there any source for such or will I need to use flex track? This Christmas village is a holiday period only setup, so anything I would need to glue or nail down is not desirable (translation: The wife would shoot me).
    2. Is there anything special about the track pieces Bachmann includes? There is some mention about the track being "electronic reversing" in the literature.
    3. If the answer to #2 is "Yes", what if anything do I need to do to integrate with the extra normal EZ-track pieces that I am ordering?

Thanks in advance for your responses. I'm sure there will be a few more questions once I have the traction set in hand.
  2. jcoop1

jcoop1 Member

MY 2 cents worth

I will try to answer each one.

Good luck with it
  3. jetrock

jetrock Member

1. Generally 15" is about the narrowest you will find pre-made track. Flextrack is easy to work with, and if you allow for easements you can operate short equipment on very, very narrow curves. You'll have to experiment with that On30 mechanism but if it is anything like Bachmann's HO scale mechanism it can handle 10" curves, less if modified for more free-swinging trucks.