Athearn contacts

Kevinkrey

Jul 27, 2006
Saint Paul MN.
I have an Athearn GP40-2 with some pretty rough looking contacts. I saw an article in an MR mag. but cant find the particular one. I would like some advice on how to clean or restore it. I have never done this before so dont know what to do. Can I just take a rotary tool to it?

N

nachoman

i believe the contacts are steel. Many people replace conacts with flexible wires to each truck. If you just want to clean the contact, I would suggest very fine sandpaper. 600 grit would probably work fine.

Kevin

diesel

Aug 29, 2005
NYC
www.empirevalleyrr.org
yes, replacing those is great, also if you ever get to a point where you have to tear down the trucks for whatever reason, cleaning the brass contact/bearings with WD-40 will also provide great new conductivity. Not to drive up your budget, but if this is a blue box you can also replace the wheels with jaybee wheels and you will notice a great reduction in stalling, and again better conductivity.

doctorwayne

Sep 6, 2005
Canada, eh?
I've put can motors in most of mine, but the wiring is mostly the same as it would be for the stock Athearn motor. You can get away with replacing only the contacts that use the long strip atop the motor, but you'll get even more reliable contact by also using wires on the truck mounting bolsters.
Power_distribution_for_Athearn_diesels_006.jpg

Power_distribution_for_Athearn_diesels_004.jpg

I soldered a short piece of rail to the free end of each of the wires, and mounted a small piece of circuit board atop the frame. I cut an insulating gap in the copper cladding, running lengthwise, then soldered cut-down rail joiners to the board, one for each wire from the trucks and one for each wire to the motor. If necessary for maintenance or repair, I can simply unplug the component (either truck or the motor) to work on it free from the loco.
Power_distribution_for_Athearn_diesels_008.jpg