Anyone designing figures?

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by Lex, Dec 21, 2006.

1. Lex

Lex Dollmaker

I'm new to designing paper model figures, but can anyone tell me what is the best program to use for this? I tried Rhino, but things are getting a bit too complicated... Or is this just my own problem?
  2. Ashrunner

Ashrunner Member

You might want to try Poser. A friend of mine does some rather interesting things with the program. It seems to be most for animation purposes, but he likes it as it is easy to design the figures he uses.

You can find information on it at Check Poser 7 in the center of the page.
  3. Stev0

Stev0 Active Member

Poser is good for quick non-professional digital figures but very bad if you require a low poly figure for paper output purposes.

ARMORMAN Guest

5. Bad_Scorpion

Bad_Scorpion Member

I'll have to agree with ARMORMAN on this one. Thats what I used for some low poly figure for some cheapo fantasy type games I helped program a little while back. Perfect type of thing for paper designs. Poser is good for the generic humanoid figures and such but pain in the rear to convert to paper. I have tried several variations. Works but takes alot of work to get a good figure design that most people would even bother trying to build. But, don't let us discourage you try them out first get a feel for what you want. But, try to remember what you are building them for,
    paper = low poly
    gaming = low/high poly
    everyything else for the most part = mid to high poly
    I work in all mediums myself. So I have several programs but can't find the box most of them are still packed in since I had to format pc and need to reload them. Thus me currently working with rhino. Works fine but I'm still trying to learn some of the fine points of it. It is rather unusually for me from some of the other apps I've used. I know long post but trying to help here.:wink:
  6. Amazyah

Amazyah Senior Member