Any experience using glue when hand laying track?

jkristia

Aug 1, 2002
Simi Valley, CA,
Visit site
What I'm think of here is using glue, instead of spikes of solder/pc ties, for attaching the rails to the ties.
I have do some hand laying with C40 and pc ties in N scale, and are quite comfortable using that method, but now I decided to try my hands on some C55 HO track. I have no experience using spikes, but I assume they are too big for using on C55 rails, so I tried the good old proven pc tie method, and of course it works, but, I think it will end up being expensive using pc ties for every 5th tie on HO.

Then I read about using Barge contact cement, but haven't been able to find it at the local Home Depot store, so instead I tried it with regular contact cement, but with no success.

Does anyone here have any experience using glue?, if so, I would appreciate a short "how to - step by step" instruction.
If not, then how would you install C55 track, using pc ties?, using pc ties every 10 - 15th tie and then a dap of epoxy?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Jesper

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site
Jesper, I can't really help you, but I share your misery. I've tried laying code 55 for some sidings, you are correct that you can't use spikes, they interfere with the flanges. So I tried Pliobond, which I had read about in a mag long ago. You apply it to the rail bottom and after dry place the rail in place, holding it with 3 point gauges and even some temporary spikes, then heat the rail with a soldering iron, which melts the Pliobond which then will adhere to the ties. You're supposed to move the iron along to avoid gwtting the rail too hot to avoid too much expansion. I'm afraid I never got it quite right, have to admit I gave up pretty quickly. Easy to apply too much glue to the rail bottom, need to find a better method of application. I'd also like to hear from anybody who has had success with this.

Vic

Feb 1, 2002
Columbus GA
Visit site