Another new layout!

twytch38

Dec 31, 2007
Hey guys! I've been working on this plan for a couple days now. It's basically gonna have a logging area which will produce logs for the lumber mill that produces lumber and chips, that will then go down to the lower area and be unloaded and empty cars picked up and do it all over again. I've also included a turn-around loop down below so the whole thing can be continuous running. This is my first time using XTrkCad so a lot of the little stuff isn't perfect. There will be some pretty tight turns, but the biggest engine I plan on using is an SD9. I'm not sure how I'm going to do the transition from the top to lower levels, so if you guys have any ideas please let me know!

Attachments

• upper layout.jpg
    upper layout.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 23
  • lower layout.jpg
    lower layout.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 25

TrainNut

Ditat Deus
Sep 15, 2004
AZ
HO? That looks as if it will be a neat layout. My only concern is the amount of clearance you will have between the two levels... not much. At it's minimum, you only have 6 linear feet +/- to achieve your clearance between the two levels. Even with a steep grade, that's pretty tight. Can you offset the lower level from the upper level in any way to give you more of a run between levels?

twytch38

Dec 31, 2007
No they pretty much have to be right on top of each other. I was thinking of doing the helix thing to get between the levels but have no idea where to start with something like that. I would like to have 6 inches between the 2 levels, but would settle for 4 in a pinch. Thanks for the input!

pgandw

Jul 9, 2005
I don't think you are going to be happy with anything less than 12" between levels, and will probably be much happier with 18". With less than 12", you won't even be able to see the lower level, much less reach in to construct or maintain or even re-rail equipment.