Animated Peanut Butter Lid Diorama

TrainClown

Hello there. It's been a bit since I posted what I am doing at my bench. I figure I should post what I am up to with regards to my PBL attempt. I'm sorry if this turns out to be a bit long winded, but I am a terrible editor and don't know what to leave out.

I'm not sure if you know this, but I am an animation junkie. Always have been since my dad took me to see "The Pirates of the Caribbean" in Disneyland back in 1969. We went through at least a dozen times.

Anyway, when the idea of a peanut butter lid challenge came up over at RRL I decided to have a go with it and to make it more interesting, I decided to animate the thing as well. I am making a tree house. I started to only make a tire swing move, but the movements have grown in number. Now there are 6 movements planned.

As soon as I read about this challenge I got the idea to make a tree house. This way I can use my recently acquired skills at making rotten and weathered wood. I bought me some kids to occupy my diorama. So I am on my way.

I want a big tree, like an oak tree, and I thought of making it out of wire twisted together. I don't have the right kind of wire. I have decided to carve the tree out of wood.

I have an old cedar fence post. Sketched out the tree and cut it out on the band saw.

2006917141541_IMG_6445.jpg

Now I will round it off with the Dremel and prune it a bit. The tree house will build itself in a hap hazard way, just like in the real world.

A pic to show the scale of the lid the tree and the kids.

2006917141916_IMG_6451.jpg

Still needs a little trimming on some of the thicker branches and I'm going to put a texture on for the bark.

20069196126_IMG_6452.jpg