An opinion needed if you would be so kind.

TrainNut

Ditat Deus
Sep 15, 2004
AZ
Hey all, normally I'm an N scale kinda guy but today my question before you deals with HO. I've got an old, brass, United, HO 2-6-6-2 that I would like to convert to DCC with a digitrax sound card so that I can run it on the club layout. How old you ask? I don't know... I have been in possession of it since '94 when I got it on consignment from a hobby shop in Tucson, AZ. Since I'm kinda new to this whole DCC thing, would it be worth my time to try and convert this thing from DC to DCC or am I going to run into problems I have not been exposed to as of yet? My LHS tells me that it should be as easy as tapping into the motor circuit, placing the board and speaker in the tender and I should be good to go. Is it really that easy? Please check out the photos...
Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Oh, last question... if all goes well and I get the sound card installed, will it still work correctly on DC as well? It should right?

Attachments

• DCP_3908.jpg
    DCP_3908.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 150
  • DCP_3909.jpg
    DCP_3909.jpg
    63.7 KB · Views: 149
  • DCP_3910.jpg
    DCP_3910.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 152

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site