Amateur modelmaker: Still learning, still practising

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by Arjun, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arjun

Arjun Member

Dear friends,

I am an amateur modelmaker from Mumbai, India. Currently I make models out of cardpaper, but I started with wood. I started only in the middle of 2004, with some very hard wood, which I tried shaping with my grandfather's tools (he used to make our furniture long ago) and a newly-purchased Stanley knife. That had its problems, as I couldn't cut it enough. That knife vanished somewhere in the house, and with academic commitments and guitar practice, that had to wait.

Since October this year, I have found a new and simple medium to use for making my models– cardpaper. I came across this site by a Japanese modelmaker, who made flying models out of card. I made two that way, just to test, then more decorative ones for display. My first 'official' model was an F-16 with the wrong livery– I used Blue Angels colours, when F-16 isn't in that!

I then drew my own plans and made an A-10 Thunderbolt II, with round engines and everything else flat. Then I made another F-16, this time with the Thunderbirds livery (no livery issues now!) and an F/A-18, with Blue Angels colours and fairing. Initially, I used paint, but with drying paint wetted recently, I got uneven finish. I then used coloured cardpaper and glaze paper for decoration, with minimum use of sketchpens and paint. Then came a simple Tornado model.