All in all, its just uh nother brick in the wall...

vilefileman

Dec 11, 2004
Hiya,
I have been modeling N scale for about 2 years now, having made the move after being in HO for the past 15 yrs. My question is this.
I have been building mostly DPM and Cornerstone buildings, and then a bunch of laserkits.
The lazers are fine, I paint and most have that wood look.
The DPM, and the cornerstone are usually brick work, and try as I might, I cannot get the bricks, and especially the grout or mortar to work or look right.
I have tried:
Brick and Mortar wash, weather wash, painting and then using a 10% black, 90% alchohol mix (whcih sorta worked for the sidewalks), none of these have given me the look I see in modelroader, etc.
Perhaps its the colors I choose?
I have been able to create a great looking weathered design, but the mortar lines are so tiny, they just wash away.
ANY thoughts from any of you, your tips, your insights, etc would be greatly appreciated, pictures would help immensly also.

V

eightyeightfan1

Now I'm AMP'd
Jun 18, 2002
Torrington, Ct.
When I was into N scale, I never even did the mortar lines. I just weathered the hell out of the building. My theory is, less than 1/4 inch of a mortoar line in 1:1 equals a micron(or smaller) in N scale...and would be hard too see any way.
I don't do mortar in HO either. Working in O,or the bigger scales I probably would.

umtrr-author

Dec 19, 2003
Visit site
I was using much closer to full strength paint for my mortar lines. What worked OK for me was painting the whole side of the building and then wiping down the bricks, leaving the mortar lines intact. You have to work quickly though! I'll try to get to a photo later.

Because this is N Scale, the overall effect can and probably should be a lot more subtle. Lines that are too noticable could make the building look more cartoonish than realistic.

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com