Absolute beginners questions

Discussion in 'General Card Modeling' started by CarlWalters, Mar 31, 2009.

1. CarlWalters

CarlWalters New Member

Hello, I'm brand new to this card modelling (having spent many happy hours with Airfix models as a boy). I thought I would give card modelling a go. having read through a few guides I've equipped myself out with what I think should be the basic tools i.e.

- A3 self-healing cutting mat.
    - Architects metal rule 12" (triangular)
    - Scotch Scrapbooker Glue with 2-way applicator
    [FONT=&quot]Fiskars 209921 Soft Touch Micro Tip Scissors
    - X-Acto X2000 knife plus extra No 11 blades.

I'm hoping this is going to be enough to start me off with but I'm sure to have missed something. Does anyone have any comments on that tool set? Any Additions?

With that sorted I'll be ready to actually start modelling! I'd like to concentrate on real space craft to begin with. But as a beginner is it best to purchase a per-printed kit or try one of the - many - free downloads?

If I'm going to download some models to print off at home then will be HP Deskjet All-in-One printer be good enough for the job? If so then what would be the best weight of card to use? I'm guessing this will vary according to the section of model being worked on? Is it best to buy a selection of different card weights at first? If so do you have any recommendations as to suppliers?

Phew - that's enough questions for now.

Many thanks in advance for any help.

2. ltla9000311

ltla9000311 Member

Hey Carl welcome to a whole new world! While I still dabble in plastic every so often, paper is quickly becoming my favorite medium for modelling. There are many different subjects, (cars, planes, tanks, mecha, and space craft) that just aren't available in plastic. That's part of what keeps me coming back to paper. Well that and the fact that if I screw up a pat while building, print out that page again! Try that with plastic!