about site and models that disappear...

aleks

Jul 28, 2011
Italy
hi everybody

I was just wondering...

If a legal site with legal free papermodels disappear ( "chromehounds", by example), it is possible to share those papermodels with other zealots?

If I want to DL an old free paper model from a site and it was no more available (Ebbles variations..., old Dave Graffam building), can I ask someone to help me find it/give it to me/(some other options here) ?

What if the model that disappear was not free? Once lost, lost forever?

Again, I was just wondering about...

Psyscape

I'm not a lawyer so the following is in my opinion and interpretation of copyright. However, the safest answer is "no."

The creator/owner of the original file is also the copyright holder. This means they have the right to decide how, where and when it is "copied." This generally means that if one does not have permission to distribute or create copies then you can't do it.

Safest thing to do there is to ask the original owner if possible. If it is not possible, then unfortunately the item is "lost."

Z

Zathros

If would have to have written in the file, that sharing, or free distribution is allowed. There are a couple of nice Cessna models that were free but now are for sale. What people do in their private lives is their own business, on a forum, it's another issue.

Let common sense prevail. Be honest to yourself. I have been given by a member of this forum, and of Papermodelers.com, a model which he designed, of which only 6 people in the world have. I have been asked by many people to share that model. The answer is a resounding "No".

I would suggest you use the "Wayback Machine" and see if you can find the model, if you can, then that means it is still available, and I would share the link with the person (or at least not feel so bad sharing the model).