A riveting question

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by TableTopAirCrew, Nov 19, 2007.

1. TableTopAirCrew

TableTopAirCrew New Member

I'm a novice at this, having taken card modeling up in the last month or so. I've gotten hooked not only on modeling but building the Piper Pawnee (Zoran Sivcev's version; I've made six attempts, three successful). While tracing the model using Inkscape (so I could change the livery) it occurred to me that the rivets possibly/probably shouldn't be on the model because a half inch rivet would only be slightly larger than a hundredth of an inch at 1:48 scale and being painted the same color as the body panel would be virtually invisible. I suppose the obvious answer would be to put the rivets on (slightly lighter/darker) and if they're visible, Great, if not, well... But the thing is I wonder if the rivets really stand out are they scalistically real.

What do you guys think--rivets or no rivets at 1:48 scale?

2. dansls1

dansls1 Member

Well, first thought in my head I'm drawn to my wargaming miniature painting days. When painting a 3D object, the first thought I had as an engineer is 'why paint shading onto a model, the real world is going to shade it'. But after studying, talking to a few people and reading some interviews with professional miniature paintings, it finally got explained - when dealing with small scale, you have to overdo detailing beyond realistic to really make it look good. Therefore, my gut reaction is that a 'realistic' no / non-visible riveted model probably won't look as good as one with exagerated rivets based on the same principal.
  3. TableTopAirCrew

Thanks for the input. I wondered if exaggeration was the way to go...Black rivets on Sivcev's white Pawnee didn't strike my attention until I started thinking about it logically.

Thanks again,
  4. cdavenport

cdavenport Member