A Quick Question

OnTrack

Sep 24, 2006
Amelia, ohio
Hey everyone, im completely new to this hobby, but willing to learn all about it, and i have a quick question. Im assuming it may not be too complicated, but i plan on doing HO scale, and i was wondering what are the top brands to purchase? Are their any specific brands that "own the market"? any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

May 12, 2006
Pacific Northwest
To me, its all about personal preferance. I buy only Athearn and Kato engines normally, although I have 1 or 2 Walthers and Bachmann Spectrum. As far as rolling stock goes, Athearn, Atlas and Walthers are what I normally run. I'm happy with them all

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT
Hi Ontrack and welcome. You really opened up a fertile area for discussion with your question. I don't know if there are any "bad" brands of MR equipment anymore. Most of them have gone bye bye due to competition. Athern, Atlas, Bachman Walthers and most of the brands that you see advertised in the major publications. There are also a lot of small one person companies who do excellent niche products. As with most things, price makes a difference. Within the past few years there have been alot of improvements in models and there are still some older versions of current models around being sold by various dealers. Riverossi products comes to mind in this respect. There are still two versions of their Heisler locomotives available. The original and the "improved' version. Both run well but the newer version has better detailing and a can motor. Not to single out Riverossi, just using them as an example. You will find the same thing with most manufacturers products.

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT