a new(to me) trick i heard about yesterday

Discussion in 'Weathering Forum' started by NSES44DC, Apr 21, 2007.

1. NSES44DC

NSES44DC Member

At a lhs, i asked about weathering chalks and washes. HE told me that he could order me some, but that they are dusty and its not good for the engines cause after a while they tend to wear off. The odd thing he said, was to try makeup. im guessing that foundation stuff..im not well knowledged on makeup..but he said a lot of stores have the big cases full of "cheap" makeup and a lot of brushes. He said they have better earthtones and what not. I wanna try this technique, just dont wanna walk in and buy a case of make up. im thinking they will look at me funny. haha Has anyone else heard of this???
  2. darkcurves

darkcurves Member

Whoa, that is something new! I'm still a beginner and I tried with chalk,the result is not bad but need something finer.
  3. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

I heard about it a few years ago and my wife gave me a compact that she had dropped. I haven't done anything yet with it.
  4. viperman

viperman Active Member

Never heard it myself, but I'm not surprised. I have heard of nail polish being used as paint on model cars
  5. jbaakko

jbaakko Active Member

Go with chalk, and dullcote over it...
  6. TrainNut

TrainNut Ditat Deus

I discovered a weathering method by accident one day on one of my scale vehicles. It accidentally got sucked up in the vacuum! When I finally found it and dug it out of the dirt and grime, it looked it looked a little banged up and perectly weathered! I don't think I will be trying that with any of my locomotives though!!!
  7. EngineerKyle

EngineerKyle Member

I use makeup for weathering ... I like the soft little brush that comes with it.
  8. fsm1000

fsm1000 Member

Make up generally has oils in it and so may not work to well on non-porous materials. And on porous materials [wood etc] it will soak in so that if you make a mistake you can't remove it.