A different approach to detail scale card modelling - in 3D

Discussion in 'Tips, Tutorials & Tools' started by j77ason, Sep 4, 2004.

1. j77ason

j77ason New Member

Hi Guys,
    I guess quite a few of you will shudder at my methods of card construction and finshing, so I will keep it simple (if I can).
    I have been building models in card for over 25 years and I only found out about ex Communist Block card kits in the 1980's, when I was into barter with pen friends in countries within the then "Soviet Block" and trading for plans....... so then I traded for everything I could lay my hands on up to the mid 1990's when I got fed up with it all - still got it all however - catalogued, etc.
    I first started building in card, after being unemployed, married, mortgage, kids, etc and after I went to a scale model ship club - "being poor", one of the financial members looked down his nose at me and suggested that I should build in card........so I did and that was the start of my hobby, back in the early 1980's.
    Back then.I found plans here few and far between and anyway, I hated building another model of something someone else had already built - i like to be different, it is fun to be different - so I spent several years of my "free time" going through old technical journals at Reference Libraries and Universities here. photocopying prints and plans from those journals from 1850 up to the 1920's when plans ceased to exist in these journals. Can't get the plans & prints at all now. Something to do with the printed paper deteriorating - so photocopying is banned.