A card and masking tape frigate?

Discussion in 'Mixed Medium' started by Eibwen, Jan 17, 2016.

1. Eibwen

Eibwen New Member

Hello! I have been "experimentimg" on materials and I have found this card and masking tape thing which I made by my self :)

This is my first try with the method and it is a 32-gun frigate (not done yet)

Attached Files:

2. zathros

zathros -----SENIOR---- Administrator

I think you would get further with fiberglass cloth and resin. It wouldn't waste such a good frame work! ;)
  3. Eibwen

Eibwen New Member

Haha, thanks. I actually made that as an experiment if I can see if it looks good but I saw some errors like some tape went inside the hull and stuffs.
    It was alao very lightweight when placed in the water. What I really liked about it was how the transom looked, I kind of liked it :)
  4. zathros

The Transom does look good. I am very good at lofting hulls. I could loft the Hull if I had the shape of the formers and a side view with the spacing and their relative position to eachother. This would allow you to make a cardboard exterior to which you could fiberglass a hull onto. I have made many R/C sailboats and motorboats this way. They are extremely durable and take to fixing a modifications well. This method just doesn't work on the sides. The ship loses it shape too much.
    Some of my work:

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    cylongirl and Rhaven Blaack like this.
  5. Eibwen

Eibwen New Member

Wow! You're great man!
  6. zathros