$50.00 tool kit

fleetsailor1981

As the title says what tools would you buy if you only had $50 dollars to spend. I am new to the hobby and working on a budget so any advice would be helpful. Thanks

Rogerio Silva

As the title says what tools would you buy if you only had $50 dollars to spend. I am new to the hobby and working on a budget so any advice would be helpful. Thanks

I take it you already have paper and printer.
I suggest:

- a cutting mat;
- a good cutting knife (like xacto or similar) with some spare blades;
- a metal ruler (20cm - 8in to 30cm - 12in);
- tweezers, straight and angled (like the ones for electronics); and
- a good glue.

Some good scissors are in order, but I preffer a sharp knife (careful!). If you want, you can get some wood sticks (like the ones you get for barbecues/kebabs), for pre-shaping round pieces, like masts and cannons.
If you have a very dull knife, you can use it to score the paper before folding. I use the metal ruler.
You can buy some color pens to color edges, too. I also use double-sided tape to reinforce edge-glueing.
Some metal clamps, like the ones they use to hold a lot of sheets togeter can be used to hold parts in place while glueing, or just to have it in a more comfortable position to work. That's what I work with.
Anyway, you CAN'T buy, but DEVELOP:

- patience;
- persistance;
- curiosity;
- an open mind;
- the will to help and ask for help;
- good relationships with other members in the forum;
- polite, constructive criticism.

All the best,

Rogério

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
That covers it. On the knifes, I prefer X-acto blades, but in all honesty, I cut most of my parts with sharp scissors. If there is a Michael's Craft Stores near you, you can find UHU brand glues, and another called ZIP-DRY that will take care of your gluing needs. :)

silveroxide