4x10 Ho Layout (How does it look?)

newhaven

:wave: Hello,

I am new to the-gauge and actually haven't worked on anything for about 15 years. I have a room in the house my wife and I bought that I can use, although I am planning on making the first layout kind of small so I can still do other projects around the house.:cry:

The layout attached (I hope you can see it) is approximately 4'x8' and is slightly modified from what I say on this site and others on layouts. I should explain a couple of things that stand out on the layout. It is not a 4x10 rectangle as I am using the two angled ends from a Christmas layout from my Grandpa that has long been taken apart so I am just using the bases. The layout has 18" radius track except for the two sidings that have a 15" radius curve.

The layout is going to be a combination of memories and really isn't modeling any one area or line. As I said the base is going to be made up of some wood from my Grandpa's layout. I also plan to put a brewery to the left of the layout to model the old Drewery's plant in South Bend close to where my Dad was born. On the right side of the layout I may add a mining operation (ie. Walthers New River Mining Company) with some 'hills' or cliffs on that side. There will be a water feature near the brewery with all the bridges and such.

I plan to run New Haven F7's as that was also a road name that my Grandpa had so i purchased the Athearn New Havens. From what I have read everything should run o.k.

Finally the two mini sidings to the left are for possible future expansion, although that may not happen for a while. (As I said other projects to do around the house:( )

I was wondering if anyone had any views on the layout. I am also looking for opinions as how this layout will be as far as railroad operations. Although I am just beginning to look at the Model Rail Operations section of this forum and that seems interesting as well.